St. Mary AARP College Scholarship awards were presented at the organizations Aug. 6 meeting. From left are AARP President Faye Smith, scholarship committee members Helen Ross and Lydia Landry, recipient JohNay Coulon (Morgan City High), committee member Curtis Leonard, recipient Jordyn Baudoin (Hanson Memorial) and committee member Lea Hebert.
—Gordon Smith Photos

Sponsors of the St. Mary AARP August meeting and meal were recognized at the meeting. From left are St. Mary Parish councilmen Sterling Fryou and Patrick Hebert, AARP President Faye Smith, Parish President David Hanagriff, and parish councilmen Paul Naquin and Kevin Voisin.

St. Mary AARP birthday and anniversary celebrants for August.

St. Mary AARP pays recognition to its 30th year

A celebration of St. Mary AARP Chapter 4435’s 30th year was held during the organization’s Aug. 6 meeting at the St. Mary Senior Citizen Center, home of St. Mary AARP, in Morgan City.
The tribute to the 30th anniversary was presented by St. Mary AARP President Faye Smith, who discussed the chapter’s founding on Aug. 8, 1988 and significant milestones in the early years.
Special recognition was given in honor of St. Mary AARP founder, the late Paul Vella Sr., and his widow Marie Vella, who was in attendance. The couple’s favorite song, Frank Sinatra’s “My Way” was played for Mrs. Vella, which was followed by a standing ovation in her honor.
Smith also recognized two surviving charter board members from 1988, Helen Ross and Nedra Giroir. Recognition was also given to current and past officers and board members.
The annual St. Mary AARP College Scholar-ship awards were presented to two graduates of St. Mary Parish high schools. The St. Mary Parish AARP scholarship committee, consisting of Helen Ross, chairman; Curtis Leonard, Lea Hebert and Lydia Landry, presented the certificates and checks.
Recipients were JohNay Coulon, a graduate of Morgan City High School; and Jordyn Baudoin, a graduate of Hanson Memorial High School.
Coulon will attend Xavier University in New Orleans, majoring in biology and pre-med. Baudoin will attend the University of Louisiana at Lafayette to major in nursing.
The meeting and meal sponsors for August were St. Mary Parish President David Hanagriff, and parish councilmen Kevin Voisin, Patrick Hebert, Sterling Fryou Sr. and Paul Naquin Jr.
Attendees were served a meal of fried fish, white beans and rice, and salad. The meal was prepared by Sterling and Pat Fryou, and Floyd and Shirley Hymel.
Hanigriff and the councilmen acknowledge the many accomplishments of St. Mary AARP over the last 30 years.
Prior to the meeting, members and guests were entertained with dance music followed by bingo.
Birthday and anniversary celebrants for August were recognized. The cake was donated by M C Bank.
The next St. Mary AARP monthly meeting and meal will be held on Sept. 10.

Include in Front Page Slideshow


Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255