AGENDA ST. MARY PARISH COUNCIL SECOND REGULAR MEETING JANUARY 24, 2024 – 6:00 PM PARISH COUNCIL MEETING ROOM FIFTH FLOOR COURTHOUSE FRANKLIN, LA

1 – MEETING CALLED TO ORDER BY THE CHAIRPERSON

2 – INVOCATION: ------ HON. RODNEY OLANDER

3 – PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: ----- HON. DAVID W. HILL

4 – ROLL CALL

5 – READING OF THE MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING:

- A. Inauguration Proceedings, January 8, 2024
- B. Special Session January 8, 2024
- C. First Regular Meeting, January 10, 2024

6 – GUESTS

- A. Diane Wiltz and Danika F. Long to appear before the Council to discuss the monthly Silver Screen Classics at Teche Theatre in Franklin, Louisiana.
- B. Dr. Eric Melancon, Coroner, to appear before the Council to update on progress and activities of the St. Mary Parish Coroner's Office.
- C. Kenny Daigle or Representative with La. Rural Water Association to appear before the Council to present the St. Mary Parish Water and Sewer Commission No. 5 rate study.

7 - PUBLIC COMMENT

8 - REPORT FROM MR. JONES, PRESIDENT:

9 – REPORT FROM PERSONNEL:

A. Mr. Jean Paul Bourg, Chief Administrative Officer

10 – REPORT OF COUNCIL MEETINGS:

- A. Public Hearing Report January 10, 2024 5:45 p.m.
- B. Public Hearing Report January 10, 2024 5:50 p.m.

11 – REPORT OF MEETINGS OTHER THAN COUNCIL MEETINGS:

12 – INTRODUCTION OF ORDINANCES:

A. FOR INTRODUCTION - An Ordinance authorizing participation in the Acadiana Watershed District, as codified by Louisiana Act 323. The Acadiana Watershed District shall be domiciled in Lafayette Parish as a central location within the boundaries of the Acadiana Watershed District. St. Mary Parish designates the Acadiana Planning Commission as the office of the Acadiana Watershed District's business operations and as the public fiscal agent and administering body to conduct daily operations as stated in Louisiana Act 323. St. Mary Parish will assist in adopting the administrative steps to establish the Acadiana Watershed District Board of Commissioners and the bylaws of the District. (Rev. Mathews)

13 – ADOPTION OF ORDINANCES

A. **FOR ADOPTION** – An Ordinance to amend Ordinance No. 2325 pertaining to the designation of Election Districts and Voting Precincts. (Dr. Rink)

14 - RESOLUTIONS:

15 – OLD BUSINESS:

A. As per LA RS 38:291 (Z) relative to the St. Mary Levee District, the St. Mary Parish Council is responsible for submitting a list containing three nominations from each of the eight single member parish council districts. The Governor shall appoint one member to represent each District.

<u>District II</u> Tanya A. Johnson Carla Davis Kevin T. Ina

B. Referred from the December 13, 2023, Regular Council Meeting – Appointments to the following Boards and Commissions:

St. Mary Parish Personnel Board – 3 Vacancies

Sherwin Landry Candace Lodrigue Dinger Latarsha M. Charles Whitney J. Bourque, Jr. Jackie Roberson, Sr.

C. Referred from the January 10, 2024, Regular Meeting - Discussion and action relative to Parish Council representative being appointed to serve on the Acadiana Criminalistics Laboratory Board. (James Bennett was representative on Acadiana Criminalistics Laboratory Board.)

16 – NEW BUSINESS:

A. Appointments to the following Boards and Commissions:

Fire Protection District No. 1 (Cypremort Point) – 2 Vacancies

No applications received.

Recreation District No. 6 (Baldwin, Jenerette, & Charenton) – 2 Vacancies

No applications received.

Sorrell Community Park Advisory Committee – 1 Vacancy

No applications received.

St. Mary Parish Water & Sewer Commission No. 4 (Chatsworth, St. Joseph, Irish Bend, Yokely, Sorrell, Websterville, Charenton, and St. Peter Street) – 2 Vacancies

Camile J. Punch – Present Member Chad Gianfala

Herbert Bell – Present Member

- B. Michelle Impastato, Council Secretary of St. Charles Parish has written on January 8, 2024, the St. Charles Parish Council adopted Resolution No. 6742 supporting Councilman Bob Fisher for At Large Member on the Executive Board of the Police Jury Association of Louisiana.
- C. Ronda Durbin, Executive Assistant/Presidents Office has emailed a Resolution adopted by the Tangipahoa Parish Council at their November 27, 2023, Council Meeting in support of Parish President Robby Miller in his candidacy for 2nd Vice President on the Executive Board of the Police Jury Association of Louisiana.
- D. Michelle Tullier, Council Clerk of the West Baton Rouge Parish Council has emailed a Resolution supporting Tangipahoa Parish President Robby Miller in his candidacy for 2nd Vice President of the Police Jury Association of Louisiana Executive Board.
- E. Dicky Arnold has written to resign from the Mosquito Control District No. 1 effective January 8, 2024.

Posted – Friday, January 19, 2024, at 2:00 p.m.

- F. Discussion and action regarding St. Mary Parish Employee Compensation Study and Comprehensive Organizational Review. (Mr. Ina)
- G. Discussion and action concerning the termination of the Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with South Central Planning & Development Commission relative to South Central Regional Construction Code Council.

17 – ADJOURNMENT

In accordance with Act 393 of 2023 and the Americans with Disabilities Act, if you need special assistance, please contact Lisa C. Morgan, Clerk of the Council at 337-828-4100, Ext. 505, describing the assistance that is necessary.